Our criminal defense lawyer has experience with cases involving a minor in possession on both sides of the state line. If you need a criminal defense attorney to help you fight a minor in possession case, call Craig Divine at the Divine Law Office, LLC. Sitting on years of experience defending these types of cases, Craig can help you defend yourself in court.
A minor in possession charge typically follows a possession offense. These cases typically occur with young people who are out at a party when law enforcement arrives and calls the end of the event. Any person merely in attendance at a party where underage drinking is happening can find themselves charged with minor in possession of alcohol. This is when you would need a criminal defense lawyer to help. While charges like this may not seem like a huge deal, if you are a Kansas resident a conviction of this offense can result in the loss of your driving privilege for one year even if you weren’t operating a motor vehicle at the time of the offense. For both Kansas and Missouri perpetrators have to take a series of drug and alcohol classes in addition to fines and court costs when convicted.
As a parent, you do everything you can to keep your kids safe and out of trouble, but you can’t be with them all the time. Sometimes, even against our better judgement, kids make foolish choices. Adolescents, in particular, are more likely to experiment with things that you would rather they left alone. If something does happen however, you could benefit from the knowledge a criminal defense lawyer has. The Centers for Disease Control’s (CDC) 2019 Youth Risk Behavior Survey found that among high school students, during the 30 days prior to the study:
- 29% drank alcohol.
- 14% binge drank.
- 5% of drivers drove after drinking alcohol.
- 17% rode with a driver who had been drinking alcohol
Both Kansas and Missouri have super strict laws relating to minors in possession of alcohol. In Kansas, your teen could lose his or her driving privilege in addition to fines and possible referral to a treatment program. In Missouri, a first conviction carries a fine of up to $1000 and a possible jail sentence of up to one year. Since both states have a legal drinking age of 21, even those between 18 and 20 years of age may be convicted under these statutes. Your teen or young adult will need a criminal defense lawyer to defend them against these charges. Even a misdemeanor conviction can affect them years down the road!
At Divine Law Firm, our staff will treat you and your family with care. We believe that everyone makes mistakes, and our criminal defense lawyer will do everything in our power to achieve the best outcome for your family member. Licensed in both Kansas and Missouri, we are proud to serve the Greater Kansas City Metro area including Jackson, Johnson, Wyandotte, Clay, and Platte counties. When you need a great criminal defense lawyer, contact us at (816) 474-2240 for a free consultation today!