Calling a criminal defense lawyer when you have been charged with a violent crime should be your first priority, because once convicted the penalties are much more severe. Criminal defense lawyer Craig Divine out of Kansas City is an experienced and skilled defender of his clients’ rights with a proven successful track record. When you need the best experienced criminal defense lawyer to protect your rights, contact our office as soon as possible.
If you are facing charges such as assault or battery, request a criminal defense lawyer immediately. The charges for violent crimes are vastly wide and, in many cases, there are extenuating factors that can alter the charges. The potential for jail time and significant fines are real possibilities, especially if there is an alleged victim involved. Charges are slightly different for Kansas and Missouri. Charges of domestic violence in Missouri are characterized by degree – 1st, 2nd, and 3rd degree assault. Third degree domestic assault is a Class A misdemeanor with a fine up to $1,000 or up to a year in jail, or both. Second degree is a Class C felony punishable by up to 7 years in prison and a fine up to $5000, or both. Domestic assault in the first degree is the worst charge and is used when someone actually causes serious physical injury to another person. It is a Class A felony punishable by 10 to 30 years or life in prison. If the crime does not result in serious physical injury to the victim, it is a Class B felony which is punishable by 5 to 15 years in prison.
In Kansas assault does not include any physical contact with another person, Kansas defines assault as placing another person in imminent apprehension of physical harm. Kansas does however distinguish between aggravated assault – which is assaulting law enforcement or using a deadly weapon. Kansas also has distinctions for regular and aggravated battery and also have a domestic battery charge for instances such as if the parties reside in the same household or if there is a familial relationship. Aggravated battery requires the use of a weapon. Kansas is complicated when it comes to this offense by having multiple severities with varying punishments for each. You need an experienced defense lawyer when facing an assault or battery charge in Kansas or Missouri.
Charges of assault and battery should never be taken lightly. That’s why it’s important to contact the Divine Law Office as soon as you are aware of your charges to represent you. Our defense lawyer services the areas of Jackson, Johnson, Wyandotte, Clay, and Platte counties along with most of Kansas City. Whether it is a jury trial or utilizing plea negotiations, he will work your case aggressively and relentlessly to obtain the best disposition possible. Call today for a FREE consultation at (816) 474-2240 or contact us using our website!