Do you need a defense lawyer in Kansas City for an assault charge? Divine Law, LLC can help. Craig Divine has years of experience defending assault cases in both Kansas and Missouri. He will handle your case with professionalism and compassion, and present a vigorous defense on your behalf. As always, ensuring that your rights are protected will be top priority.
A charge of aggravated assault is brought in Kansas if the perpetrator uses a deadly weapon, is attempting to conceal his or her identity, or has intent to commit a felony when the assault occurs. It is a level 7, person felony and has the potential for 13 months in prison, or more if you have a prior criminal record. The Kansas statute also calls out assault and aggravated assault of a law enforcement officer, with additional penalties if convicted. The definitions are the same but are applied when assault occurs against a local, state, federal or campus police officer while he or she is properly identified and engaged in the performance of duties.
In Missouri, assault is defined somewhat differently. Assault crimes are classified by degrees under Title XXXVIII. Chapter 565 of the Missouri state statutes, and include some crimes that are defined as battery in other states. There are four degrees of assault.
First degree assault is a class B felony in Missouri, unless the victim is classified as a “special victim”., in which case other more serious charges may apply. It carries a potential sentence of 5 to 15 years in prison. Second degree assault is a Class D felony with possible imprisonment for up to 7 years and/or fines of up to $10,000. Assault in the third degree is a Class E felony and has penalties of Imprisonment for up to 4 years and/or fines of up to $10,000. Assault in the fourth degree can be either a class A or class C misdemeanor, depending on the type of violation. It carries fines of up to $2000 and possible prison time of up to 1 year. If the victim has special victim status, the penalties are more severe.